Movies from March

March was a mixed bag for movies.  Mind you, I rarely get to the new releases so you’ll see some dated films here.  What I’d love to hear is what’s showing in the French countryside, Ms. N.?

Here’s a recap of the movies I squeezed in around all the writing, reading, chopping, prepping and cooking:

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly – with a friend

Horton Hears a Who! – with the children

Little Miss Sunshine – with my husband

The Ten Commandments (animated) – with the whole family

The Man Who Wasn’t There – with my husband

Dinosaurs Alive! (IMAX film) – the whole family 

The Message (starring Anthony Quinn) – with my husband

For all my writer friends, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” inspires with an amazing strength to put words on paper.  “The Message” is also a powerful piece of work.  I loved the animated “The Ten Commandments” but I admit to trying to sneak in a snooze during “Horton.”  Dinosaurs Alive! provided great visuals.  What’s playing with you?    

4 responses to “Movies from March

  1. Angela and I just rented the DVD of “Across The Universe” and we really loved it. Now, it’s a musical based on all Beatles songs, so it had that going for it. But it was written and directed by the fabulous Julie Taymor [who created Lion King on Broadway and Frida on film]. “Across the Universe” is really a musical arc across the 60s, using the arc of the Beatles as backdrop, a sort of second look at that misunderstood decade from within its own sensibility. For a moment, you almost can see why anyone might have believed for even a second, and why it all had to end. And yet…those sweet songs. Highly recommended.

  2. cookerycontent

    Many thanks, Bob. I’ll take this recommendation right on over to my Netflix account. Greg’s been tuning in with a “Beatles and Queen” phase lately so now is a great time for both of us to check out Julie Taymor’s “Across the Universe.”

  3. I have to add a wonderful Israeli film we just caugfht today. It’s called “The Band’s Visit.” Egyptian police band invited to play concert in an outpost town in Israel get stranded without its bus and lost. People must take them in. Story goes from there. Deeply touching, human film.

  4. cookerycontent

    The Downing Film Center showed a preview of “The Band’s Visit.” I’m interested in this film. I haven’t noticed it listed locally yet. Did you see it close to home?

Leave a Reply

