This girl’s gotta eat . . . without meat

Here’s a little family secret:  I could do just fine without meat at the table.  But husband/life and meal partner grows a little grumpy after a hiatus.  And I believe in sharing meals as opposed to short order family dining.  It was my guilty pleasure to prepare the table for a vegetarian Spanish guest this week–thank you for dropping in, friends!  The meal:  falafel and jajik, couscous laced with cilantro, spiked with cranberries and garbanzos, garden greens, Lebanese bread (from the bakery) and a fresh fruit tart.  Despite the tart crust turning out a little less flaky than usual, I felt like a pampered guest right at home.  Here’s to crossing cultures in the cookery.

4 responses to “This girl’s gotta eat . . . without meat

  1. Mmm… cilantro! Sounds very delish 🙂

  2. cookerycontent

    My wilting garden cilantro retired for the season but the market selection looks pretty lush.

  3. Hello there, glad we could be of help… sorry I haven´t gotten to read this until today but just yesterday B and I was at the movies, and before we usually have a snack. Yesterday the turn came to some falafel and we both remembered with love and longing the meal we had at your table. So much better, richer and mysigare (=)). I´m telling you, our mouths watered… As for the movie, the new Coen movie… I guess the sense of their humor does not match that of a Swede and a Spaniard.
    Love C

  4. Hejsan, friend! Cissi, you’ll have to make a return trip. I’m perfecting a new take on tortilla soup that I know you will love. Hello to all and tell B there’s more falafel in her future.

Leave a Reply

